Strobe Light

my left eye

[I Desire, mickey morgan,2015]

Strobe Light

mickey morgan

A bowl of thumb

tacks spilled on my desk

scattering and rolling and shaking.

I had to pick them up.

I reached to the far right corner of my desk

settling around an upright tack

with thumb and index finger of my right hand

already thinking ahead to what my left hand could do.

As my right hand moved to the bowl

to deposit the thumbtack from the far right corner

my left hand reached for an overturned tack

rolling to an upright position.

My fingers flipped the tack to the midddle of my palm.

Moving  over the mouth of the bowl

my left left hand hollowed and released

My finger flipped

the tack to gravity. PLINK!

I was more confident now.

I directed my hands two at a time.

I saw the two actions going on

at the same time. I gave them a rhythm,

like a heart beat, which is involuntary.

A man with a soft cotton shirt comes in the room

My eyes follow him in an unbroken gaze.

He walks in an ellipse in front of my desk.

My eyes move in ellipses

as my hands pick up thumbtacks

many more still to go.

The man begins to talk. I comprehend,

I nod. Like a heartbeat, which is involuntary.

He keeps walking. My eyes rove in ellipses.

I have to get up all the thumbtacks.

A small boy pulls at my shirt, pushing

between my rhythmic hands. The man kept talking

and walking. I keep nodding

and comprehending and following him with my eyes

as my mechanical hands pick up the thumbtacks.

The small boy reaches inside my shirt

and takes my left nipple in his right hand.

He twirled it. This was his nipple from birth.

His nipple twirled as I watched the man, eye-

to-eye for greater communication. I knew I

must pick up all the thumbtacks as I

nodded and comprehended,

like a heartbeat, which is involuntary,

before I could stop

the plant on my desk from moaning.

It was crying and withering

from thirst

and it was my fault my fault.

Leave a Reply

