Exception

rooms-by-the-sea-edward-hopper-1951

[Rooms by the Sea, Edward Hopper, 1951]

Exception

                                                                                 —mickey morgan

Woozy with the need for sleep

I sat down to write a poem.

A twentieth-century 1988 fatigue

lay over me and I pitied myself

so I fixed some popcorn,

took a dinosaur napkin down

from the refrigerator to wipe

my fingers clean as I ate

I wrote as I ate, laying ink and thinking of what I would say to you

tomorrow. I would confess how hard it all was

a daily grind with pre-dawn beginnnings

to post-midnight ends and I would look for

your concern, try to see how special a case I am.

And then I noticed how all my poems

hug the side wall of the paper

cement siding holding

on to the vertical

hunching in the shoulders,

eating  popcorn at one in the morning.

Leave a Reply

