Lesson in a Car

wheels-of-fortune-arman-1995

[Wheels of Fortune, Arman, 1995]

Passing On

–mickey morgan

I speed to Dayton

pounding between the lines,

smooth roll behind me.

An old house peels

paint, white to gray almost

no  time for reflection

in its windows as I fleet

past. Lumps of hills bumble

by the sides of my eyes

mottled green. I apologize

to the yellowed life on the side

of the road, to the searching bird

that swoops to the solid

line, curious of my flight,

inviting a gaze I cannot give–

to the tall tree,

acid-ridden, golden,

that tattered glory towers

portentous in my windshield

fugacious and meteoric, hurtles

to pinpoint in my mirror.

One thought on “Lesson in a Car

Leave a Reply

