If War Came Here

Seated Woman, Georges Braque, 1907

[Seated Woman, Georges Braque, 1907]

If War Came Here

If war came to this city

I would strip down my nails,

tie up my hair, pull off bracelets,

rings, necklaces, skirt, stockings, wash my face,

put on sturdy shoes, loose pants, warm shirt,

eat only what I needed

and drink lots of water.

But war is not here.

I shape my nails, let my hair fly loose,

I jangle with jewelry and flow

with soft  drapes. I eat what I want

and drink sweet drinks that offer other

worlds visiting. I paint my eyes and lips

a different color

and laugh at my reflection

Leave a Reply

