Hunger at the Edges of a Black Stone Square

Bug der Argo, Joseph Beuys, 1952

[Bug der Argo, Joseph Beuys, 1952]

Hunger at the Edges of a Black Stone Square

Asking that found a coo coo hole in me

a bow open to dread and your eyes

that didn’t seem eyes that I might

slide into and not return.

My own pupils propped me out

kept me scrabbling like a bee

cuddling and slipping on clover flowers kept out

of nectar deep in brown.

I’m still pushing with no retort for you.

Your asking unmasks me

You widen soft then stitch needle-narrow shut

lids saving me from any fall to nectar.

Leave a Reply

